Getting Started in Medical Sales 

Welcome to the HSMN Message Boards!
Please refrain from posting offensive messages as well as commercial advertising, solicitation and recruiting - such messages will be deleted by the forum moderators. Note: Posting a new thread requires HSMN membership; non-members may post replies to the original poster (OP) on existing threads.

Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: ForumsTopic ListPost New TopicLog In
medical device sales
Posted by: William (Host IP Logged)
Date: December 15, 2007 02:49PM

I live in Birmingham, Alabama and am interested in pursuing a career in medical device sales. I do not want to relocate. Birmingham has a strong medical community and I need advice on how to break in.

Thanks

Re: medical device sales
Posted by: Brian (Host IP Logged)
Date: January 19, 2008 10:03PM

William, what's your work background?

Date: January 23, 2008 05:03PM

I have over 15 years of succesful B2B sales experience selling industrial products. I know how to build and maintain lasting relationships with my customers and am eager to break into orthopedic sales. I have been to a couple of cases with a plate company to learn more about O/R room protocal and procedures.

The key for me is to get a position selling into the hospitals that can help me gain experience and get product knowledge. I understant that I have an uphill battle but am determined to break into the industry.

Any advice?

William

Date: January 23, 2008 06:21PM

Will- I know this is going to sound like I'm preaching to you, esp. because I'm only 26, no sales experience, and 2 months from seperating from the Marine Corps. So far, I've tried EVERY METHOD to get into an interview and only one thing has worked so far.

You're probably just like me, saying, "If only I could get my foot in the door, my exprerience/achievements/charisma/etc. would blow them away!"