Getting Started in Medical Sales 

Welcome to the HSMN Message Boards!
Please refrain from posting offensive messages as well as commercial advertising, solicitation and recruiting - such messages will be deleted by the forum moderators.

Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: ForumsTopic ListPost New TopicLog In
Breaking into Medical Device Sales
Posted by: Jeff (Host IP Logged)
Date: January 04, 2008 07:54PM

Hello, my name is Jeff, and I'm a recent college graduate with over four years of tangible product sales experience. I worked for Cingular wireless in a retail location for about 3 and a half years where I ranked in the top 23% as a part time sales rep. I also led my particular location in total generated profit during all periods in which I worked full time (during holiday and summer breaks).

I currently work for AT&T wireless as a B2B sales rep. I sell complete wireless solutions including phones, pda's, voice and data plans, and Blackberry servers to small and medium sized businesses with 1-300 employees.

My ultimate goal has always been to sell medical devices, as I have a neighbor who used to work for Bard, and after speaking with him and shadowing him on a sales call, I was sure it was what I wanted to do. Before reading some of the posts in this forum, I thought that Pharma sales was a great way to break into device sales, but now I understand Pharma sales isn't really the golden ticket!